Skip to Content

Arnold and Thorpe set to join new-look BHA board

22 December 2014

THE final two pieces of the jigsaw making up the new-look BHA board are expected to be put in place shortly, with trainers' leader Rupert Arnold and Arc chairman David Thorpe poised to join on a short-term basis.

The pair are set to be appointed by the BHA's member organisations - the Racecourse Association in Thorpe's case, with Arnold chosen by the Racehorse Owners Association, Thoroughbred Breeders' Association and licensed personnel.

They are due to serve for up to 12 months to help the six new non-executive directors of the BHA - whose identities were unveiled recently - bed in.

It is understood the process of naming Arnold and Thorpe has not been a smooth one and there is a degree of dissatisfaction in some quarters.

Ian Barlow and Philip Freedman, the chairmen of the RCA and Horsemen's Group, are believed to have been proposed for the two positions but rejected by the BHA.

There was also said to be disagreement within the horsemen's ranks about another name before Arnold was decided upon.

Arnold and Thorpe served as BHB board members before the formation of the BHA in 2007.

They will join Atholl Duncan, Julie Harrington, Noel Harwerth, Joe Saumarez Smith, Laura Whyte and Eamonn Wilmott on the restructured board.

Back to News