Skip to Content

Betting Shop Manager Of The Year

23 November 2015

After six months of competition we have reached the climax of the 2015 Racing Post/SIS Betting Shop Manager of the Year.

Today at the Jumeirah Carlton Tower Hotel, one of the eight finalists will be crowned overall champion. 

The judging panel, chaired by Brough Scott and including Nigel Boardman and Helen Scott of SIS, Jim Cremin and myself of the Racing Post, Richard Hayler of the Independent Betting Adjudication Service and Tanya Stevenson of Channel 4 Racing, concluded its deliberations last night after the eight managers,along with a member of their staff, were grilled for one last time.

It was a difficult decision choosing an overall winner, but each manager will receive a commemorative Racing Post front page as regional champion.

The successful manager, as well as receiving the prestigious title, will win a VIP trip to the Emirates Singapore Derby in July, courtesy of the Singapore Turf Club. 

This year’s special guest is A Question of Sport captain and former England rugby union international Matt Dawson. 

Today is the culmination of a journey that began in the spring with the major companies nominating their best managers from each of the eight regions. 

At the same time,independent managers from across Britain and Ireland were encouraged to enter the competition. 

These were whittled down to 86 with a written question-and-answer paper before being further reduced to 48, who were all subjected to a mystery-shopper visit. 

We then invited 24 managers to spend a day at the races with the judges at Doncaster on Racing Post Trophy weekend at the end of last month. 

Now we've reached the final eight and on these pages each manager has written a profile of themselves, explaining their careers and how they relax away from their jobs. 

Once again, congratulations to the eight managers for reaching the final, and enjoy the day! 

Back to News