Skip to Content

New category in this year's stud and stable staff honours

01 October 2015

A new category saluting those who have made an outstanding contribution to the racing industry will be included in the 2016 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards, for which nominations open a week today.

The awards, which give racing the opportunity to champion unsung heroes, are in their 12th year and again being backed by Godolphin to the tune of more than £120,000 in prize-money. They will be presented at the Jumeirah Carlton Tower hotel in Knightsbridge, London, on February 22. The awards, run by the BHA in association with the Racing Post, are divided into five categories dedicated to stud and stable staff – the David Nicholson newcomer Award, Leadership, Rider/ Groom, Stud Staff, and Dedication to Racing.

This year, in conjunction with Racing welfare, the Racing Community Award has been created to recognise those who have made an exceptional contribution to the industry and replaces the administration staff award. nominees for this category do not necessarily need to be employed within the industry but must have contributed to the greater good of the sport. There will be prize-money of £5,000 for the winner of that category and £2,000 for each of the two runners-up, with the same amount donated to a charity of the victor’s choice. BHA chief executive nick Rust said: “These annual awards are extremely important in giving employers and the industry an opportunity to recognise and reward the outstanding work stud and stable staff do with the creation of the Racing Community Award we’re delighted to work with Racing welfare this year to widen the reach of the awards. ”

Racing welfare chief executive Dawn Goodfellow added: “we are delighted to work with the BHA and Godolphin to establish a single industry awards ceremony by incorporating Racing welfare’s Pride of Racing Awards within the Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards.”

The nomination process is this year available to trainers online via the Racing Administration website. nominations can be completed online and forms can also be downloaded at and, or text AWARDS to 07970 527339 and a form will be sent to you. Closing date for nominations is December 2.

Back to News