Skip to Content

Shortlist announced for 2016 staff awards

08 January 2016

THE judging panel for the prestigious Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards yesterday announced the short-list for the 2016 prize-giving.

From a huge field of more than 220 nominations, the 12-strong panel have chosen ten finalists for each of the six categories. 

During the next stage of the judging process every short-listed nominee will be spoken to and their nomination application considered before the candidates are narrowed down to three finalists per category. 

They will then go forward to the final stage of judging which will take place in London on February 22 when all finalists will be interviewed by the judges to decide the winners and runners-up in each category who will be revealed b y Clare Balding at the awards ceremony that evening.

Judging panel chairman Brough Scott said: “Judging these awards is inspiring and I'm honoured to be a part of it.Talking to the individuals on the short-list gives me great admiration of racing staff and what it means to those who work closest to these wonderful horses. 

“It’s such a difficult task to pick just three finalists out of so many deserving nominations. Inevitably we cause some disappointment but it’s worth noting a number of the finalists have received previous nominations, which reflects the highly competitive nature of the awards as well as the fact that perseverance does pay off.

“All the judges would like to send their congratulations to all those people who have been both nominated and now shortlisted. They are recognised for all the hard work they put in and we would like to wish the best of luck to the 18 finalists. I hope everyone in racing will continue to welcome what these awards represent and show their support for them.” 

The awards, sponsored by Godolphin and run by the BHA in association with the Racing Post, recognise winners in the categories of Leadership, Rider Groom,Stud Staff and Dedication to Racing.There are also prizes for the winners of the Rory MacDonald Community Award and David Nicholson Newcomer Award. 

The winner of the event’s top prize,the Employee of the Year, is set to receive an additional £15,000, with the same amount awarded to their yard or stud.

David Nicholson Newcomer Award 

Callum Pittendreigh, Sophie Jarvis, Lorna Towers, Lauren Lucas, Lester Futter, Harry Russell, Rahul Kamble, Ellie Farrell, Laura Winstanley, Amber Mitchell. 

Leadership Award 

Keith Evans, Amy Murphy, Phillip Machin, Stephen Radley, Abi Harrison, Gemma Hogg,Carol Burnett, Hayley Kelly, Matthew Howells,Donna Hills.

Dedication to Racing Award 

Samantha Dawn, Fran Whyte, Marie Murphy,Angela Cheshire, Claire Goodenough, Robert Hempton, William Reddy, Ray Eyre, Jane Smith, Alfred Mills. 

Stud Staff Award 

Mark Zipfel, Sue Caldwell, Stuart Thom,Gillian Knight, Jacques Prinsloo, Susan Jannaway, Nicky Strippel, Martin Redmond,Bob Whittington, Dan Matty. 

Rider/Groom Award 

Christopher Ely, Alyson Deniel, Emily Blood,David Williams, Becky Smith, Joy Morton,Willie Ryan, Suzie Young, Jason Favell, Gary Milligan. 

Rory MacDonald Community Award 

Charlotte Wilson, Angela French, Richard Farquhar, Tim Adams, Norman Gundill, Raye Wilkinson, Mike Filby, Gail Turner, Lisa Delaney, Helen Yeadon. 

Back to News